Public Retirement & Social Security Committee

Almost all legislation affecting Arkansas' Public Retirement Systems is assigned to the Public Retirement & Social Security Committee, commonly referred to as the Joint Retirement Committee. The Committee has 20 total members with 10 from the Arkansas House of Representatives and 10 from the Arkansas State Senate. The House also has ten (10) alternates to the Public Retirement Committee to serve if a House member is unavailable for the Committee meeting.

The Public Retirement Committee's leadership includes a House Co-Chair and a Senate Co-Chair along with a House Co-Vice Chair and a Senate Co-Vice Chair. The Chairmanship of the Committee alternates between the House and the Senate during the session. This Committee has the difficult but important task of sorting through numerous actuarial reports, pages of financial data, complex formulas, and information to ensure that the public retirement systems operate fairly and efficiently for members, employers, and the public.

The Arkansas State Senate has named the 10 members to the Public Retirement Committee from the Senate. Six of the Senators are returning members of the Retirement Committee and will provide a deep and experienced pool of knowledge for the Committee. The Senate has also chosen the Senate Co-Chair and Co-Vice Chair. Senators David Johnson and Joyce Elliott provide the Committee with quality experience, knowledge of retirement issues, legal expertise, and command of the legislative process.

2015 Senate Members of Retirement Committee

Senator David Johnson, Chair, Little Rock Senator Jovce Elliott, Vice Chair Little Rock Senator Eddie Cheatham Crossett Senator Blake Johnson Corning Senator Lindsey Uvalde Fayetteville Senator Bruce Maloch Magnolia Senator Jackson Rapert Conway **Hot Spring** Senator Bill Sample Senator Larry Teague Nashville Senator Jon Woods Springdale

The Arkansas House of Representatives has named the 10 members and 10 alternate members to the Public Retirement Committee from the House. The House has one (1) Committee Member returning from the last session. In addition, the House has one (1) Committee Member who was an Alternate member in the last session.

The House Speaker has also appointed the House Co-Chair and Co-Vice Chair. Representative David Meeks and Representative Gary Deffenbaugh will provide the Committee with experience, knowledge of retirement issues from a close perspective, legislative expertise, and a strong background in policy. The leadership of the Public Retirement Committee will ensure the independence, capability, and experience needed.

2015 House Members of Retirement Committee

Representative David Meeks, Chair
Representative Gary Deffenbaugh, Vice Chair
Representative Charles Armstrong
Little Rock
Representative Karilyn Brown
Representative Donnie Copeland
Representative Lanny Fite
Conway
Van Buren
Little Rock
Sherwood
Little Rock
Representative Lanny Fite
Benton

Representative Douglas House
Representative Bob Johnson
Representative Greg Leding
Representative Ron McNair
North Little Rock
Jacksonville
Fayetteville
Alpena

ALTERNATES

Representative Charlie Collins Fayetteville Representative Joe Farrer Austin Representative Jack Ladyman Jonesboro Representative Sheilla Lampkin Monticello Representative Tim Lemons Cabot Representative James Ratcliff Imboden Representative Dwight Tosh Jonesboro Representative Clark Tucker Little Rock Representative John Walker Little Rock Representative Richard Womack Arkadelphia